Our website uses  cookies for statistical purposes.

Our Articles

Double Tax Treaties in Croatia

Double Tax Treaties in Croatia

Having the businesses protected from a taxation point of view has always been in the attention of the governmental authorities in Croatia. In this direction, several double taxation agreements have been signed by Croatia with countries worldwide. The provisions observe the avoidance of the double taxation on incomes of companies with origins in the contracting states. Knowing how business is run in Croatia will help foreign investors benefit from a reliable environment regardless of the chosen business entity. If you need help for opening a company in Croatia, we invite you to talk to our team of company formation agents in Croatia.

What are the countries that signed DTTs with Croatia?

Armenia, Albania, Azerbaijan, Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Chile, Canada, Czech Republic, China, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Germany, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Iran, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Korea, Kosovo, Luxembourg, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Mauritius, Montenegro, Moldova, Norway, the Netherlands, Oman, Portugal, Poland, Qatar, Russia, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Spain, Slovenia, Switzerland, Sweden, Syria, Turkmenistan, Turkey, UK and Ukraine are the countries that signed double tax treaties with Croatia.

What are the general provisions of DTTs signed by Croatia?

The avoidance of double taxation of profits is made through different methods for companies and natural persons. Among the provisions of a double taxation treaty signed by Croatia, we mention the following:

  • companies in Croatia are subject to taxes on generated profits only in this country;
  • the royalties, dividends, and interests are subject to a withholding tax of 5%;
  • the incomes derived from immovable properties in Croatia are subject to a 15% rate on dividends;
  • a 0% rate is applicable for the payment of royalties and dividends by the contracting state that signed a DDT with Croatia;
  • Croatia offers a tax credit for companies that paid the taxes in the country of origin.

We are at your disposal with information about the company formation in Croatia and about the taxes covered by the double taxation agreements signed by Croatia with the above-mentioned countries.

Who can benefit from the DTTs signed by Croatia?

Foreign companies with permanent establishments in Croatia are entitled to benefit from the provisions stipulated by the double taxation agreements signed in this sense. Knowing how your profits are protected by the conventions established by Croatia will help foreign investors understand better the tax structure and the benefits in accordance, in order to properly direct the investments.

Feel free to contact our company incorporation specialists in Croatia and find out more details about the double taxation treaties signed by Croatia.